Home Disney Planning Tips Which Magic Kingdom After Hours Event is Right for You?

Which Magic Kingdom After Hours Event is Right for You?

1
Which Magic Kingdom After Hours Event is Right for You?

There are two After Hours events on the current schedule for the Magic Kingdom: Disney After Hours and Disney Villains After Hours. Which special event is best for your next vacation?

Disney World is offering both traditional After Hours and Villains After Hours in 2020 from January to July.

While this is great in that it offers guests even more opportunities to explore the park after hours, guests should be aware of the differences between the two events so that they pick the event that is best suited for their travel party.

This article will compare the costs, dates offered, attractions and experiences available, and overall value of both events in order to best help you decide which to book for your upcoming trip.

Dates Offered

When it comes to deciding which event to book, the decision could be made for you depending on your travel dates. If your trip includes a Friday date, Villains might work better in your schedule.

If a Monday is included in your trip, the regular event might be best. If your dates include both events, your decision will not be as easy.

Extended Park Hours for Magic Kingdom in January and February 2020

After Hours at the Magic Kingdom Dates

Event from 10 p.m.-1 a.m. on the following dates:

  • Monday, March 9, 2020
  • Monday, March 16, 2020
  • Monday, March 23, 2020
  • Monday, March 30, 2020
  • Sunday, April 5, 2020
  • Monday, April 13, 2020
  • Monday, April 20, 2020
  • Monday, April 27, 2020
  • Tuesday, May 5, 2020
  • Monday, May 25, 2020

Event from 9 p.m.- midnight on the following dates:

  • Friday, January 17, 2020
  • Monday, January 20, 2020
  • Monday, February 3, 2020
  • Monday, February 10, 1010
  • Monday, February 17, 2020
  • Monday, February 24, 2020
  • Monday, May 11, 2020
  • Monday, May 18, 2020

Event from 8 p.m.- 11 p.m. on the following dates:

  • Monday, January 6, 2020
  • Monday, January 13, 2020
  • Thursday, January 23, 2020
  • Monday, January 27, 2020
  • Friday, January 31, 2020
  • Monday, March 2, 2020
Villains After Hours Review

Disney Villains After Hours at the Magic Kingdom Dates

Event from 9 p.m.- midnight on the following dates:

  • Friday, February 7, 2020
  • Friday, February 21, 2020
  • Friday, March 6, 2020

Event from 10 p.m.-1 a.m. on the following dates:

  • Friday, February 14, 2020
  • Friday, February 28, 2020
  • Wednesday, March 11, 2020
  • Wednesday, March 18, 2020
  • Friday, March 27, 2020
  • Friday, April 3, 2020
  • Friday, April 10, 2020
  • Friday, April 17, 2020
  • Friday, April 24, 2020
  • Friday, May 1, 2020
  • Friday, May 8, 2020
  • Thursday, May 14, 2020
  • Friday, May 22, 2020
  • Friday, May 29, 2020
  • Friday, June 5, 2020
  • Friday, June 12, 2020
  • Friday, June 19, 2020
  • Friday, June 26, 2020
  • Monday, June 29, 2020
  • Monday, July 6, 2020
  • Friday, July 10, 2020

Cost of Event

After Hours at the Magic Kingdom

Tickets for Disney After Hours at the Magic Kingdom cost $129 if purchased prior to the event and $139 if purchased at the gate. Annual Pass holders and Disney Vacation Club members can purchase tickets for this event at the discounted rate of $99 per person.

Disney Villains After Hours at the Magic Kingdom

Tickets for Disney Villains After Hours at the Magic Kingdom cost $145 if purchased prior to the event and $155 if purchased at the gate. Annual Pass holders and Disney Vacation Club members can purchase tickets for this event at the discounted rate of $115 per person.

Both events require all guests 3 and up to pay the full ticket purchase price.

Attractions and Special Events

Both events provide guests access to 25 popular attractions and experiences with limited wait times. Guests often book an After Hours event in order to experience more attractions in less time with significantly shorter lines.

The Disney Villains After Hours event includes even more opportunities for specially themed events and attractions. Pirates of the Caribbean and Space Mountain have special overlays that are only available during the Villains After Hours events.

Additional offerings include the Villains Unite the Night Stage Show featuring Hades, Meg, The Queen, Maleficent, and Jafar, thematic music and lighting, event themed limited merchandise, and special appearances by the Maleficent dragon.

New additions to the event for this year can be found here.

Note: This event does not include character meet and greets with the villains.

Food and Snacks

Both events include complimentary ice cream novelties, popcorn, and select bottled beverages at various carts throughout the park.

The Disney Villains After Hours event includes specialty snacks, food, and beverages for purchase that are themed to the event. Click here for more information about the delicious and unique offerings available only at this event.

Which event is best for you?

When it comes to deciding which event to book, there are many factors to keep in mind.

First, to aid in your decision, check out this review of the Villains After Hours event from 2019, this review of a difficult night at Magic Kingdom After Hours, and this cost analysis of whether or not the Magic Kingdom After Hours are worth the price.

Ultimately, I think the decision lies in determining what your purpose is for attending the event. If your goal is to ride as many rides as possible with minimal wait times, the classic After Hours at the Magic Kingdom is most likely best for you.

Disney Villians After Hours coming to the Magic Kingdom Summer 2019

If, however, you have a special affinity for Disney villains and enjoy specialty entertainment, snacks, and merchandise that aren’t readily available at any other time, then the Disney Villains After Hours event is your best bet.

If you have younger children who might not be able to stay up late enough to enjoy these events, it is possible that Early Morning Magic is the better option for your party.

Do you have plans to attend one of these events this year or have you attended one in the past and have some feedback to help others decide what to book? Comment below or on Facebook. We’d love to hear from you!

-Jaelyn Winkle


1 COMMENT

  1. When I went in 2017, they weren’t doing after hours events in the summer; I see last year they did them in August, any ideas as to whether they will, this year? Loved Early Morning Magic, but was hoping to try an After Hours event..

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.